Shearwater Message Board
http://board.shearwatermusic.com/

Wye Oak U.S. tour underway
http://board.shearwatermusic.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=2303
Page 1 of 1

Author:  jkade [ 12 Mar 2011 23:37 ]
Post subject:  Wye Oak U.S. tour underway

These guys were great opening for Shearwater (in part due to the band intermingling in both sets).

Civilian, their third LP, was released last week and is awesome. Nothing sounds like filler to me. Current favorites: Dogs Eyes, Civilian, Holy Holy.

Here's the announced shows for this year:
Fri Mar 11, 2011 - Washington DC - Black Cat with Lower Dens, Lands & Peoples
Sat Mar 12, 2011 - Chapel Hill NC - Local 506 with Lower Dens
Sun Mar 13, 2011 - Atlanta GA - The Earl with Lower Dens
Mon Mar 14, 2011 - Memphis TN - The Lamplighter with Lower Dens, Young Greys
Tue Mar 15, 2011 - Norman OK - The Opolis with Lower Dens, Samantha Crain
Thu Mar 17, 2011 - Austin TX - Waterloo Records with Black Joe Lewis, Royal Bangs
Fri Mar 18, 2011 - Austin TX - The Parish with Wild Flag, Telekinesis
Fri Mar 18, 2011 - Austin TX - The Mohawk with Sharon van Etten, Ted Leo
Fri Mar 18, 2011 - Austin TX - Swan Dive with J Mascis, John Grant
Sat Mar 19, 2011 - Austin TX - Home Slice Pizza with Versus, Telekinesis
Mon Mar 21, 2011 - Tucson AZ - Solar Culture with Callers
Tue Mar 22, 2011 - San Diego CA - Casbah with Callers
Thu Mar 24, 2011 - Los Angeles CA - The Echo with Callers, Height With Friends
Fri Mar 25, 2011 - San Francisco CA - Bottom of The Hill with Callers, Sands
Sun Mar 27, 2011 - Vancouver BC - Media Club with Telekinesis, Callers
Tue Mar 29, 2011 - Portland OR - Mississippi Studios with Callers
Thu Mar 31, 2011 - Nampa ID - Flying M Coffee with Callers
Fri Apr 01, 2011 - Salt Lake City UT - Kilby Court with Callers
Sat Apr 02, 2011 - Denver CO - Larimer Lounge with Callers
Sun Apr 03, 2011 - Omaha NE - Slowdown Jr. with Callers
Mon Apr 04, 2011 - Iowa City IA - The Mill with Callers
Tue Apr 05, 2011 - St. Paul MN - Turf Club with Callers, Zoo Animal
Wed Apr 06, 2011 - Appleton WI - Lawrence University - Esch-Hurvis Room with Callers
Thu Apr 07, 2011 - Chicago IL - Schubas with Callers
Fri Apr 08, 2011 - Detroit MI - Magic Stick
Sat Apr 09, 2011 - Toronto ON - El Mocambo with Callers
Sun Apr 10, 2011 - Montreal QC - Casa Del Popolo with Callers
Tue Apr 12, 2011 - Cambridge MA - Middle East Upstairs with Callers
Thu Apr 14, 2011 - New York NY - Bowery Ballroom with Caveman, Callers
Fri Apr 15, 2011 - Philadelphia PA - Johnny Brenda’s with Callers, Secret Mountains
Sat Apr 16, 2011 - Baltimore MD - 2640 Space with Callers
Sun May 22, 2011 - New York NY - Bowery Ballroom with Ted Leo, St Vincent
Sat May 28, 2011 - George WA - Sasquatch Music Festival

Author:  sea [ 20 Mar 2011 11:54 ]
Post subject:  Re: Wye Oak U.S. tour underway

Hope they'll come over here, new album is ace, would love to see them.

Author:  Storm and Static [ 30 Mar 2011 18:28 ]
Post subject:  Re: Wye Oak U.S. tour underway

They are indeed incredible.

Author:  jkade [ 03 Apr 2011 22:55 ]
Post subject:  Re: Wye Oak U.S. tour underway

A little bit behind the times, but here's a soundboard NPR recording of their March 12 show. Not chopped up into individual tracks, though.

Author:  daylight [ 07 Apr 2011 21:37 ]
Post subject:  Re: Wye Oak U.S. tour underway

jkade wrote:
Not chopped up into individual tracks, though.


Your wish is my command.

Author:  jkade [ 07 Apr 2011 22:13 ]
Post subject:  Re: Wye Oak U.S. tour underway

Awesome, thanks!

Detroit is tomorrow. Burning anticipation...

Author:  jkade [ 08 Apr 2011 23:59 ]
Post subject:  Re: Wye Oak U.S. tour underway

Awesome show tonight! Despite Jenn fighting to keep her voice. She sounded fine throughout, with some really excellent vocal performances. Her guitar technique has even improved since last year. Andy was extremely impressive too. What an awesome live band.

The second opening act, Slothpop, was a really pleasant surprise. I liked what I heard of their music online, but I didn't expect them to be such an impressive live band. I'd see them again as a headliner. They might make a good opening act for Shearwater, too...

Check out a live number here.

Author:  jkade [ 19 Apr 2011 22:28 ]
Post subject:  Re: Wye Oak U.S. tour underway

Well, the American tour is over, but they stopped by the Onion AV Club and left an improbably awesome cover of Danzig's Mother.

Download mp3

Author:  Storm and Static [ 01 Aug 2011 19:52 ]
Post subject:  Re: Wye Oak U.S. tour underway

I'm seeing them open for Okkervil River in Rochester in september. While it might not be quite the bill of Titus Andronicus/OR, I'm still really excited.

Author:  jkade [ 05 Aug 2011 08:26 ]
Post subject:  Re: Wye Oak U.S. tour underway

I missed 'em on Wednesday (couldn't do the four hour round trip) but we're seeing them open for Explosions in the Sky in October. I wish the bill were flipped around...

Did anybody see them on Fallon? The mix sounded iffy (way loud keys, very quiet guitar) but a good performance. Jenn looked a little nervous.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/